EDITOR-IN CHIEF: Josef Fredericks and Ellie Miskin           SPORTS EDITOR: Leslie Fregoso       PHOTOGRAPHER: Ian Hunter WEBSITE BY: ROB CATES, ADVISOR

2017

ABOUT US

CONTACT US

REGULAR BELL SCHEDULE

MINIMUM DAY SCHEDULE

RALLY SCHEDULE

FACULTY/STAFF PAGE

I

Mr. White Interview

1.  If you weren't currently teaching what would you be doing?

I would be in law school or a lawyer, but teaching is what I found and where I need to be right now. It is for me and I'm so happy to be here especially at Live Oak High School and to be making a difference in the community.  I feel like I'm already making a difference just from the classes that I've seen so I hope to keep that going and educate the future and making sure that the future is bright.

 

2.  What aspect of LOHS were you looking forward to the most?

 

The diversity.  During my interviews back in June Mr. Walton kept telling me, "You're going to love it here. The students are amazing, we have a diverse sect of students, beyond their ethnicity, everyone's perspective is different, everyone has a different experience and you're going to like that about LOHS."  I love the diversity here.

 

3.  What made you decide that you wanted to work at live oak high school?

 

First, it was the high performance of the school, the school is really good in regards to testing and since I come from a lower income background and I grew up pretty modestly.  I wanted to make sure that students in a lower income community like Live Oak can have the opportunity for a good education so that they can be similar to me. I'm the only one in my family with a college degree. I want to be able, if a student is willing/wanting to be that one person in their family with a college degree.  Second, I was just really impressed with the campus and with the administration and how Mr. Walton said that he supports his teachers.  3.  The teacher support, so far the last couple weeks has been great like everyone stops by my classroom and asks me how my week is going and I just get so much support here.  

 

4.  What word describes you best and why?

 

Let's go with grit because it's the school motto and my life story is the embodiment of true grit.  As I said I'm the only one in my family in line with a college degree.  It was a journey to get here.  My 3-4 years in college I had to work 3-4 jobs while taking the full set of classes, which was 17-18 units at UC Davis and it was a pain in the butt but it was worth it and Iím here now and Iím starting to get paid well and itís going to go forward from here.

 

5.  Do you have any unique hobbies?

 

I like to run a lot, I participated in cross country and wrestling and track and field, I was the team captain for the shot put and discus quad my senior year.

 

6. What kind of student were you in high school?

 

I was a good student but overlooked by teachers.  I tried my best, put in effort and helped out others around me.

 

7. Is there anything you want LOHS to know about you?

 

I want more flags in my room, and I'm here to be that safe space for anyone regardless of who you are as a person, if you need a place to go, whether it's talking to someone or hanging out come to room A1.

 

What is your biggest pet peeve?

 

In the classroom is speaking out when another person is speaking.  Outside the classroom is obnoxious behavior.

 

Where did you go to college?

 

I went to UC Davis for my undergrad, teaching credential, and currently working on getting my Masters there too.

 

 

 | CONTACT MANELINES |

Manelines 2017-18